Asking For Faith

In the book of Mark, Chapter 9 verse 24 is one of the most astonishing and audacious request I believe was ever made of Jesus during his earthly ministry. After the transfiguration, Jesus, Matthew, John and James descended the mountain to find the rest of the disciples surrounded by a crowd, including some scribes. The disciples had been trying to cast out a demon from a boy but were unable to. The father approached Jesus and begged for his help. Jesus said to him, “If you believe, all things are possible to him who believes”. The father of the child cried out and said with tears, “Lord, I believe; help my unbelief!”
 In my walk, I have learned that I could pray for healing, strength, understanding, deliverance, salvation, justice, and myriad other things, but, always I thought that faith was up to me. It was my faith that determined if and how well God heard my prayers; I thought it was up to me and me alone to cultivate, water, feed and grow my faith. Today I learned that it isn’t so. God will increase my faith just for the asking.
I believe in God, Jesus, the Holy Spirit, the Resurrection, all of that. I think most Christians can say the same. But do I believe he can truly heal me? Is my faith strong enough and big enough to allow God to bless me in ways that some would call miraculous? Do you?

