Steven Furtick’s Sun Stand Still

 I was fortunate enough to receive an advance copy of Steven Furtick’s new book Sun Stand Still(Multnomah Books) to review and blog about. Okay, I’ve had it for at least three, four months now and I still haven’t finished it.
The flesh part of my being had a hard time accepting the things that Furtick was talking about in this book. However, the spirit part of me was aching to believe it all.
The premise of this book is the story of Joshua from the book of Joshua, verses 9 through 13:
 “Joshua traveled all night from Gilgal and took the Amorite armies by surprise. The Lord threw them into a panic, and the Israelites slaughtered great numbers of them at Gibeon. Then the Israelites chased the enemy along the road to Beth-horon, killing them all along the way to Azkelah. The hail killed more of the enemy than the Israelites killed with the sword. On the day the Lord gave the Israelites victory over the Amorites, Joshua prayed to the Lord in front of all the people of Israel. He Said,
            “Let the sun stand still over Gibeon, and the moon over the valley of Aijalon.”
So the sun stood still and the moon stayed in place until the nation of Israel had defeated its enemies.”(NIV)
He asked God to abandon the natural laws of physics, that God himself lay down, and cause the day to continue until all of his enemies were defeated, utterly.
Heavy stuff. Some folks believe the stories like this in the Bible are nothing more than fables written for children and, although I profess to be a Christian, in my heart of hearts I agreed even though my words said otherwise. Still, you gotta ask yourself, why not try it. Why not pray your own Sun Stand Still Prayer, as Furtick calls it.
So I did. At first it seemed Gods answer to this prayer was almost the complete opposite of what I had requested! I was confused and a bit angry. So I prayed it again, this time being very specific of what I wanted and how I wanted it to happen. Heh, here was I, a puny human, telling God, the all-powerful, creator of the universes how to do something. Silly human!
A few weeks later, while trying to deal with what I thought was God’s alternate answer to my very specific prayer, things began to happen in a way that was perfect and unexpected and so very God that I couldn’t deny that my prayer had been more than answered, it had been exceeded! A full cup, overflowing, with more goodness than I could have dreamed of.
OK, probably NOT the review you were looking for. No, I don’t advocate getting this book if you are on a quest for earthly riches from the Almighty. But if you are looking for deeper faith, if you are looking for God to surprise you in your need, get this book. Pray your own Sun Stand Still prayer, then sit back and accept God’s blessing as you watch him work.
