Miracles: Getting One or Being One. Which Would You Choose.

My pastor showed a YouTube video in church last Sunday about a pretty amazing guy. His name is Nick Vujicic and he was born with no arms and no legs. It took me awhile but I finally found it so I could share it with you.

I’m not one of those people who get emotional over stuff like this. I don’t know why but inspirational messages like this never seem to turn on my water-works, and I’m certainly not trying to turn on yours. But while watching this in church last Sunday, one thing that Nick said really gave me a punch in the gut.

Like most people, I’ve had a pretty good share of limitations, disappointments, and challenges in my life and like most Christians these are the things that have most often driven me to my knees asking God, not only why but also asking Him to get me out of the situation or even, like Paul writes in 2 Corinthians 12:7-9, asking for the “thorn” to be removed. So far, also like lots of other Christians, I haven’t had much luck in this area. No miraculous healing or delivery from whatever the problem is, but just like Jesus said to Paul in verse 9 of this passage, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my strength is made perfect in weakness.”

I think I’ve read that passage a hundred times and thought, “gee, thanks anyway Lord.” The thing that finally changed my attitude and set me straight about this passage, however, occurred this Sunday while watching Nick Vujicic, laying face-down on a table, no arms, no legs, and a huge smile on his face telling me, “If God doesn’t give you the miracle, you will be the miracle for somebody else.”

Okay. I get it. it isn’t about ME. It isn’t about making my life easy or comfortable or pain free. That’s for later, like, a lot later when I’m on the other side of heaven. For now, I’m walking through a very dark and crippled world and some of that darkness and disease in gonna get on me for sure. Some, I’ll pick up on my own, some of it is flung at me by other people. That’s the way it is. What we have a choice in is how we respond to it and how we use it. Nick had every reason on earth to be bitter and angry with God for making him without arms and legs. But how he responded to this challenge, how he used it, is making a difference to people literally all over the world.

In a recent interview, Nick states that conservatively, his ministry has brought approximately 200,000 souls to Christ. Imagine if there had been no Nick Vujicic to reach those 200,000. What is it in your life that you struggle with or have overcome that could be a miracle to even one person?

