The Voice New Testament: A Review

Before committing to reading and reviewing this New Testament translation for Booksneeze, a reviewing community hosted by Tomas Nelson Publishers, I’d read some of the comments around the Internet that were both complimentary and condemning of it.  I’ve always been a person who likes to suspend judgement until I read or see something for myself and so I downloaded it onto my iPad and began to read.

The Voice New TestamentWhat I experienced while reading The Voice was an intimate, comfortable portrayal of Jesus that felt a lot like how the early oral Gospels must have felt. Imagine sitting around a rough table in an early Christian home or a campfire somewhere along a dirt road to somewhere and the conversation turns to this  man named Jesus who’d recently caused such a stir over in Jerusalem. It was a beautiful experience.

There are some denominations that believe only the King James Version of the Holy Scriptures should be taught.  Others believe that there are many good and acceptable translations.  Most all would agree that introducing a new translation is a risky and controversial endeavor.  Personally, I don’t think God can be boxed into one translation or another and that He will use any means possible to reach as many people as possible with His Word. In Romans 8:28 we can read this…

And we know that God causes all things to work together for good to those who love God, to those who are called according to His purpose

It’s easy sometimes to forget just how big God is.  We tend to want him to play by our rules and stay in our box, completely missing His sovereignty, creativity, and mastery of the entire universe.  Would I recommend this as a study Bible?  Nope. But I do recommend it.  Maybe you know someone who’s new to Christianity and could use a good story around a campfire, or maybe you could use one yourself.  In any event, I thoroughly enjoyed reading The Voice and I’m hoping there will be an Old Testament offering as well in the future.

