Hurling Sharp Objects

Dear LGBT men and women around the world,

I love you.  I love you the way Jesus loves you.  With his whole heart.  I do not think you’re going to hell, if you believe that Jesus loves you and died for you then that’s that.  I do not think you need to go to any ‘deprogramming’ camp or receive psychological treatment, or any other cockeyed idea cooked up by folks who are a little confused about how Jesus wants them to think and live and love.

That being said, I DO believe the words of the Bible.  This doesn’t mean I am going to hurl sharp objects at every LGBT person that I happen to meet.  It simply means I have a different theology and a different opinion than you.  It also says in the Bible that I am to love my neighbor as I love myself.  Next to loving God with all my heart, mind and soul, Jesus seemed to think that was #2 on his list of important commandments and, well, if it’s good enough for Jesus…

I also want to tell you that I’m sorry.  On behalf of every wrong-headed Christian who ever insulted or degraded you,  I tell you I am sorry.  No person, whom God placed on the earth deserves the hate or bad treatment that so many of His children mete out in a quest to be zealous for the Lord.  That being said, I have one more thing to say.

I feel rather persecuted as a Christian in today’s culture.  I feel that if I keep my mouth shut about what I believe then I’ll be okay, I’ll get by.  The recent controversy over Mike Huckabee’s statement (which was not necessary) has convinced me of this fact even more.  While I am not planning to hurl sharp objects at people who have different beliefs than I do, I am hoping these same people will find a way to refrain from that behavior as well.   In reading Matthew Paul Turner’s blog post on the subject, I felt any comments I could have made would have been drowned out amid the noise from the LGBT community and its supporters, and the so-called ‘Christian Right’ as they took their usual positions and ‘duked’ it out, with no one seen as the clear winner.

I want you to know that there’s lots of us in the middle, who manage to show and feel love for whomever the Lord puts in our path.  This doesn’t mean our theology has suddenly changed.  It means we are changing our hearts to be more like Christ’s and isn’t that the point?  It also means that we realize we’ve been granted the freedom from having to judge our neighbor. That’s God’s job.  But we are commanded to love, and love without judgement is easy when you remember who’s in charge.  It’s also easy when we look at our own lives and our own sins and see just how much forgiveness we’ve been graced with.

So, the next time you see me, or another level-headed Christian on the street or wherever, and they show you the love you deserve, in spite of and regardless of their own theology, maybe you could love us back?

